Home / Letter From The Editor / Letter from the Editor #652

Letter from the Editor #652

Nov 16, 2012
 

As we try to address the burgeoning problem of diabetes worldwide, studies dealing with food choices or physical activity always catch our attention. We want to take advantage of the results and apply them to patients regardless of whether the study participants even have diabetes. Even if the trial has only 6 or 8 people, we sometimes take the results and apply them to a large group of patients. This week Dr. Sheri Colberg helps us see why what works for the goose does not always work for the gander in her feature, "Why Exercise Timing Matters — But Not for the Reason You Think."

In the past few months, a deluge of new phones, tablets and computers has hit the market with improved displays and features. You had to figure this would work its way down to the diabetes market, and last month, Dexcom received approval for their new G4 Platinum CGM. Check out the Product of the Week to find out more and see what it looks like.

 

All of us at Diabetes In Control wish you and your family a Happy Thanksgiving, and a wonderful holiday season. 

 *****

Announcements:
 
Topics: Guitar rock legend Leslie West shares his struggles with diabetes; dLife profiles world-renowned street artist Shepherd Fairey; and Jim Turner returns with more man on the street interviews. Sundays on CNBC at 7 PM ET, 6 PM CT, and 4 PM PT. Catch up on dLife.com.

 
The TCOYD Continuing Medical Education Program offers a unique opportunity to bridge patient and professional education, demonstrating the link between clinical lessons in the classroom to the real life patient experience. Find out more here.
 
Please answer this week’s poll: How aggressive should we be with pre-diabetes?
 
*****************************
We can make a difference!
*****************************
 
Check out this week’s Test Your Knowledge question.

Dave Joffe, Editor-in-chief