Friday , October 20 2017
Home / Letter From The Editor / Letter From The Editor. July 8, 2009 Issue #476

Letter From The Editor. July 8, 2009 Issue #476

The American Society of Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery met last week and released new information — be sure to check out this week’s Items 12 through 15.

You have seen the backlash from the recent studies on Lantus and Cancer and already other insulin manufacturers are touting their products for replacement. It is only a matter of time before the scammers and infomercial makers join in. They will probably have some 2 a.m. broadcast about a new herbal remedy that will take the place of Insulin and cure your diabetes. This week Steven V. Edelman, MD, shares his thoughts on these False Promises and Marketing Scams — Herbal Remedies and Vitamins

TCOYD Diabetes Mini-Series Conference, July 28, 2009 – San Diego (UCSD) The Walton Center at the Preuss School

Topic: Type 1 Night! Moderator: Steven Edelman, MD; Guest Speakers: Chris Sadler, PA-C, CDE – Pumps; Andrea Gasper, MS, PA-C – Pumps; Matthias Von Herrath, MD Research; Bill Polonsky, PhD, CDE – Emotions One-on-one: Consultations with our Expert Panelists Goal: Gain knowledge, share knowledge, and experience the camaraderie of being with fellow Type 1s and their families. http://tcoyd.org/mini_series.php

dLife: July 12, 7PM ET on CNBC
dLife helps sports fans win with the best food choices in the stadium, sports bar, and right at home. Plus, hear from the Centers for Disease Control’s Ann Albright, a major player in the government’s effort to combat diabetes. And in the dLife kitchen: a delicious one-pot chicken dish. Start the week with the dLife community: Sundays on CNBC at 7 PM ET, 6 PM CT, and 4 PM PT.

**************************
We can make a difference!
**************************

Check out this week’s “Test Your DIABETES Knowledge” question.

Dave Joffe, Editor-in-chief