Wednesday , October 18 2017
Home / Letter From The Editor / Letter from the Editor #653

Letter from the Editor #653

Hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving and that you found everything you wanted during your Black Friday shopping spree.

During the recent Liver Meeting 2012 in Boston there was a presentation on the apparent increase in the risk of liver disease and cirrhosis in type 1 patients. With this in mind, our two PharmD candidates from the University of Florida bring you the first of a two part feature on How the Liver Affects Insulin and Vice Versa. This week they discuss carbohydrate metabolism, and how both insulin and liver hormones can make glucose control very difficult for diabetes patients.

Typically when we find out that we can do a better job at health care we go for it. Sometimes this means reevaluating threshold levels for disease diagnosis and changing them. However a new threshold for the diagnosis of gestational diabetes could mean a 4 to 5 fold increase in the patients diagnosed with gestational diabetes, potentially overwhelming our healthcare system

 *****

Announcements:
 
Topics: dLife follows psychologist, filmmaker, and type 1 adventurer Dr. Jonny White as he travels down the coast of Africa by bicycle. Also, the story on nighttime eating syndrome; Dr. Nat Strand with shoe shopping tips; and Jim Turner swaps low stories. Sundays on CNBC at 7 PM ET, 6 PM CT, and 4 PM PT. Catch up on dLife.com.

 
The TCOYD Continuing Medical Education Program offers a unique opportunity to bridge patient and professional education, demonstrating the link between clinical lessons in the classroom to the real life patient experience. Find out more here.
 
Please answer this week’s poll: Can your patients ask you questions via e-mail or another internet service?
 
*****************************
We can make a difference!
*****************************
 
Check out this week’s Test Your Knowledge question.

Dave Joffe, Editor-in-chief