Wednesday , December 13 2017
Home / Letter From The Editor / Letter from the Editor #646

Letter from the Editor #646

The EASD meeting was chock full of news about the latest drugs and new classes of medications. In one important update, you’ll hear how soon you could be giving your patients a single shot to control their diabetes for a whole year. As you read through this week’s amazing list of articles be sure to check out the one on SGLT-2 and Reductions in Blood Pressure. After you read this article take a look at this week’s Mastery in Minutes, as our publisher, Steve Freed, interviews Dr. Carol Wysham, Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine at the University of Washington, as they discuss this new class of drugs.

Our staff has put together a brand new section on Mobile Apps for Clinicians and Patients to give you the latest technological tools to better help you help your patients manage their diabetes. Please take some to check out the new sections and especially this week’s featured app from the Taber’s Medical Dictionary publishers. 

******
 
Announcements:
 
Topics: Champion cross-country skier Kris Freeman faces his demons in the Olympics; expert tips for drugstore diabetes shopping; and Jim Turner asks spouses how they deal with diabetes challenges. Sundays on CNBC at 7 PM ET, 6 PM CT, and 4 PM PT. Catch up on dLife.com.
 
The TCOYD Continuing Medical Education Program offers a unique opportunity to bridge patient and professional education, demonstrating the link between clinical lessons in the classroom to the real life patient experience. Find out more here.
 
Please answer this week’s poll: Now that the first debate is over, who would you vote for if the election were today?
 
*****************************
We can make a difference!
*****************************
 
Check out this week’s Test Your Knowledge question.
 
Dave Joffe, Editor-in-chief