Thursday , December 14 2017
Home / Letter From The Editor / Letter from the Editor #633: New EDC Guidelines

Letter from the Editor #633: New EDC Guidelines

I had a chance to get back to nature this week by spending a couple of days in a B&B in the mountains outside of Asheville, NC.

While we were enjoying a great breakfast made from hormone-free meat and eggs, and pesticide-free fruits, I got into a discussion about how all the additives to foods are affecting us. We talked about how hormones added to livestock feed had many negative effects on our endocrine system and how this has played a role in increased obesity and diabetes.

One of my breakfast colleagues brought up the idea that chemicals can also play a role in other endocrine disorders. He mentioned that the Endocrine Society had recently released some guidelines on the definition of endocrine-disrupting chemicals (EDC) and screening programs for chemicals. I was able to get a copy of these guidelines ahead of their printing and have them for you here.

There is a new drug for diabetes that may be able to reduce A1c more than any of the current brands of oral medications. Check out this week’s item #8, about a new diabetes drug that may improve fluctuations in blood sugar and reduce inflammation in our type 2 patients. 


*****

Announcements:

dLife.com: July 8, 7PM ET on CNBC

Topics: dLife explores the diabetes/depression connection. Plus, a healthy breakfast favorite in the dLife kitchen, and another amazing diabetes makeover. Sundays on CNBC at 7 PM ET, 6 PM CT, and 4 PM PT. Catch up on dLife.com

Please answer this week’s poll: Do you agree or disagree with the U.S. Supreme Court’s decision on the Affordable Care Act?

Vote in and then see results from previous polls here.

*****************************
We can make a difference!
*****************************

Check out this week’s Test Your Knowledge question.

Dave Joffe, Editor-in-chief