Monday , December 11 2017
Home / Letter From The Editor / Letter from the Editor #632: New Weight Loss Drugs

Letter from the Editor #632: New Weight Loss Drugs

This week the FDA approved the new weight loss drug lorcaserin. This is the first new drug for weight loss we have had approved in 13 years and early indications are that we will be seeing a lot of prescriptions in the near future. Although I agree that we need all the help we can get when working with our overweight patients, I wonder if the 10 pound weight loss over a year is worthy of all the hoopla surrounding this drug. In fact the literature on this week’s Product for the Week actually shows better results and probably costs less.

We also have a study showing the benefits of using liraglutide with insulin. This means that in the future two shots a day could regulate fasting and prandial glucose levels with very little risk for weight gain or hypoglycemia.

This week, we also have a Special Feature article covering GLP-1 Actions on Beta-cell Mass and Function. Working together with my two current Pharm D. candidates we have gathered the best and most current data for you.

*****

Announcements:

dLife.com: July 1, 7PM ET on CNBC

Topics: One amazing type 1 woman shares her journey around the globe to conquer television’s Amazing Race. Also, one man’s journey to better control with insulin, and Jim Turner asks what you hate about diabetes. Special Guests: Dr. Nat Strand. Sundays on CNBC at 7 PM ET, 6 PM CT, and 4 PM PT. Catch up on dLife.com

Please answer this week’s poll: Which of the following would be least likely to cause hypoglycemia with metformin monotherapy?

Vote in and then see results from previous polls here.

*****************************
We can make a difference!
*****************************

Check out this week’s Test Your Knowledge question.

Dave Joffe, Editor-in-chief