Monday , December 11 2017
Home / Letter From The Editor / Letter from the Editor #631: Selenium and other Non-traditional Products

Letter from the Editor #631: Selenium and other Non-traditional Products

Many times our patients come in to us with a list of herbal, nutritional and other non-traditional products to help them avoid disease and live healthier. All we can do is scratch our heads and tell them it might help and hope that it doesn’t hurt. Now there is a large study that shows the results of taking the particular supplement selenium. It appears that the risk of diabetes is reduced by almost 25% in patients with proper levels of selenium (Selenium Linked to Lower Diabetes Risk by 24%).

There was an update on one of the new SGLT-2 inhibitors and we have that for you (SGLT-2 Inhibitor (Empagliflozin) Safe, Effective as Monotherapy). If you want to learn more about these drugs and how they work be sure to check out our review from last week of this new class of drugs.

Sheri Colberg PhD, an award winning researcher, addresses the issue of physical activity for the most unfit patients and why doing the right things can give a better benefit to the patients who need it most.  

*****

Announcements:

dLife.com: June 24, 7PM ET on CNBC

Topics: Champion cross-country skier Kris Freeman faces his demons in the Olympics; expert tips for drugstore diabetes shopping; and Jim Turner asks spouses how they deal with diabetes challenges. Sundays on CNBC at 7 PM ET, 6 PM CT, and 4 PM PT. Catch up on dLife.com

Please answer this week’s poll: Which of the following would be least likely to cause hypoglycemia with metformin monotherapy?

Vote in and then see results from previous polls here.

*****************************
We can make a difference!
*****************************

Check out this week’s Test Your Knowledge question.

Dave Joffe, Editor-in-chief