Tuesday , October 17 2017
Home / Letter From The Editor / Letter from the Editor #624

Letter from the Editor #624

The diabetes epidemic keeps finding younger victims and these 10 to 17-year-olds with type 2 diabetes need much more aggressive care than we have been willing to give them. This week’s first item, Type 2 More Dangerous in Children,  looks at the need for more than one medication for these kids and why we need to not waste time trying to make only one work. The researchers found that the rate of obesity was a big contributor and when you look at Item #4, BMI, BUN Can Predict Death from Diabetic Ketoacidosis in Children, you can see how these same adolescents with high BMI’s are more likely to die from DKA.

All this adds up to increasing medical costs and in Item 12, America’s Waistline Expands and Costs Soar, you’ll see as we move from a country of overweight citizens to a country of obese citizens that costs increase for non-medical related expenses as well. 

*****

Announcements:

dLife.com: May 6, 7PM ET on CNBC

Topics: Vietnam veterans who developed type 2 diabetes after exposure to Agent Orange recount their struggles. Plus, Chef Michel Nischan in the dLife kitchen with a cheesy veggie favorite, and Jim Turner in the dentist’s chair. Sundays on CNBC at 7 PM ET, 6 PM CT, and 4 PM PT. Catch up on dLife.com

TCOYD Conference and Health Fair, Raleigh Convention Center, Raleigh, North Carolina, Saturday, May 19, 2012

Join Steven Edelman, MD and Featured Speaker, Ben Vereen, (Singer, Dancer, Actor) for a day focused on diabetes education, health and wellness.

Please answer this week’s poll: What kind of physical activity do you participate in to set the example for your patients?

Vote in and then see results from previous polls here.

*****************************
We can make a difference!
*****************************

Check out this week’s SPECIAL FEATURED GLP-1 Test Your Diabetes Knowledge question!

Dave Joffe, Editor-in-chief