Sunday , October 22 2017
Home / Letter From The Editor / Letter from the Editor #622: Exercise, Sleep, and Eat Your Breakfast!

Letter from the Editor #622: Exercise, Sleep, and Eat Your Breakfast!

Have you ever noticed that when patients get older they become more scared of falling? Many times they will stop their physical activities because of this fear, which is not a good idea for our diabetes patients. Sheri R. Colberg, PhD addresses this issue in her new feature Fall Much? You Need to Exercise More, Not Less, to Prevent Falls.

More of our patients are working odd hours as businesses shift to a 24 hour service and sales mode and this can be a problem for our diabetes patients. This week, Item #7, Shift Work with Less Sleep Sets Stage for Diabetes, discusses the mechanisms that can increase their risk of diabetes, and Item #2 points out the value of low glycemic breakfasts for improved daytime glucose control

*****

Announcements:

dLife.com: April 22, 7PM ET on CNBC

Topics: A new documentary explores the challenges of being a parent of a child with diabetes. Plus, tips for spotting hidden carbs, and Dr. Nat Strand answers viewer questions. Sundays on CNBC at 7 PM ET, 6 PM CT, and 4 PM PT. Catch up on dLife.com

TCOYD Conference and Health Fair, Raleigh Convention Center, Raleigh, North Carolina, Saturday, May 19, 2012

Join Steven Edelman, MD and Featured Speaker, Ben Vereen, (Singer, Dancer, Actor) for a day focused on diabetes education, health and wellness.

Please answer this week’s poll: With the Supreme Court about to rule on the Affordable Care Act, what is your prognosis for American healthcare?

Vote in and then see results from previous polls here.

*****************************
We can make a difference!
*****************************

Check out this week’s Test Your Diabetes Knowledge question!

Dave Joffe, Editor-in-chief