Monday , March 19 2018
Home / Letter From The Editor / Letter from the Editor #592

Letter from the Editor #592

Sep 24, 2011

This week we bring you more on the EASD and there is an exceptional amount of new information on GLP-1s: I don’t mean just another analog but multiple ways that GLP-1 can be increased in the body, and new ideas on the benefits. According to this week’s Item #2, EASD: Thorough Chewing Raises Hormones Regulating Food Intake, chewing your food more can increase GLP-1 levels, and Item #12, Miglitol Increases GLP-1 Levels for Patients Treated with Sitagliptin, shows that miglitol, an oral alpha-glucosidase inhibitor, can further increase GLP-1 levels when added to sitagliptin. Item #5, EASD: ‘Gliptin’s’ May Be Heart Savers, builds on the concept of the cardiovascular benefits of GLP-1 and how the use of the “gliptins” can decrease cardiovascular risk.

Sheri Colberg, PhD returns this week with a new feature Being Female and Physically Active: Special Concerns for Women with Diabetes,” where she focuses in on issues including how monthly cycles affect insulin action.



TCOYD Conference and Health Fair, Tampa Convention Center, Tampa, Florida, Saturday, October 1, 2011

Join Steven Edelman, MD and Special Guest, Kim Lyons, former trainer on The Biggest Loser, for a day focused on diabetes health and wellness. September 18, 7PM ET on CNBC

Topics: A visit with Insulindependence, a group that encourages teens and young adults with type 1 to reach new heights. Also, a savory soup from the dLife kitchen, and another extreme diabetes makeover. Sundays on CNBC at 7 PM ET, 6 PM CT, and 4 PM PT. Catch up on

Please answer this week’s poll: For first time insulin users, do you recommend vial & syringe, or an insulin pen?

Vote in and then see results from previous polls here.

We can make a difference!

Check out this week’s “Test Your Diabetes Knowledge” question!

Dave Joffe, Editor-in-chief