Monday , October 23 2017
Home / Letter From The Editor / June 16, 2009 Issue #473

June 16, 2009 Issue #473

Last year at the ADA 68th ADA Scientific Sessions, results from the ACCORD and VADT studies indicated that tight glucose control increased the risk of cardiovascular death.

This year they reviewed the results again and found that the headlines were unfounded. Now they have reversed their opinions and are saying that it was not tight control that caused an increase in cardiovascular death, but the length of time before intensive control was begun and the complications those patients with long-standing diabetes already had.

Looks like normal blood sugars are good for most people with diabetes after all.

TCOYD Diabetes Conference June 20, 2009, Sacramento, CA. TCOYD Diabetes Conference comes to the Doubletree Hotel in Sacramento, CA. Taking Control of Your Diabetes (TCOYD), a nonprofit diabetes education organization, is hosting a conference, lunch and health fair from 8 am to 5 pm. The conference will feature national and local medical experts offering informative and motivational programs in diabetes care for people with all types of diabetes, those at risk for diabetes, and their loved ones. This program will focus on diabetes and the Native American. To register or get more information, call (800) 998-2693 or visit http://www.tcoyd.org

dLife: June 21, 7PM ET on CNBC
dLife visits journalist Bob Schieffer to find out how he ‘faces the nation’ each week with diabetes. And a high-flying airline employee shows us what it’s like to stay healthy at 20,000 feet.  Plus, amazing triathletes with diabetes and Jim Turner on the fears we face. Make the most of your dLife and don’t miss an episode: Sundays on CNBC at 7 PM ET, 6 PM CT, and 4 PM PT.

**************************
We can make a difference!
**************************

Check out this week’s “Test Your DIABETES Knowledge” question.

Dave Joffe, Editor-in-Chief, CDE, FACA